My Flipping Coin

HEADS1

When I was a young boy, I was wandering along a dusty path, staring vacantly at the ground beneath me. Suddenly, right at my feet, something shiny caught my eye.

I stopped and I picked it up. It was some kind of rare, two-headed coin. I did not examine it closely or pay attention to any of the markings because its radiance distracted me. As I slowly turned the coin under the rays of the sun, it glimmered in such a way that I fell under it’s spell.

I clutched the coin and thrust it into my pocket. But I never let go of it.  I just kept flipping the coin in my hand, over and over again.

HEADS2

The coin’s dark enchantment convinced me that it had the power to explain events, interpret experiences, and tell me the real story of my life.

Had I looked closely at my treasure, I would have discovered that self-contempt and God-contempt were the two sides of this coin.

But with its design hidden from me, as I flipped the coin over in my hand, my heart alternated between these twin beliefs:

I’m no good” and You’re not good to me.” 

As long as I held on to this coin–and as long as it held on to me–its dark power held sway over my spirit. It warped my view of God and distorted my perception of self. It offered a twisted interpretation of my experiences, and provided a faulty narrative of my life. 

By and by, the Spirit came to me. Deeply suspicious about His intentions, I resisted. I was determined that He would not pry my fingers off of my prized token. But He tricked me. Instead of forcibly confiscating my treasure, He loved me. And to my complete surprise, the coin just dropped out of my hand. 

Now that the spell was broken, the Spirit Himself showed me the coin–first one side and then the other. As I examined the inscriptions I discovered that, instead of enriching me, this coin had been impoverishing me for decades.

Finally, I began to see the real story. it was the enemy who forged this coin, and laid it in my path. The evil one grinned when I picked it up and was delighted that I held it so tightly.

The adversary knows that distrust in God’s love for us is the flip-side of self-contempt. To cultivate one is to foster the other. So, as long as we keep flipping the coin, the serpent’s dark magic entrances us. But the enchantment is broken when the Spirit takes our coins and gives us change–transformed hearts that begin to see the riches of God’s true heart toward us in Jesus.

So, whenever we see this two-headed coin in our path, I suggest we pick it up–then melt it down into a cross. Then we will possess a token with real interpretive power.

If you have ever stumbled upon this coin, what did you do with it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Flipping Coin

Leave a Reply

