Hold the Door!

DOORSI’ve been thinking a lot about doors.

I remember the scene from the animated movie, Monster’s Inc., in which Mike Wazowski and Sully are making their way through rows and rows of doors that are moving along on conveyors in every direction. Leaping among hundreds of moving doors, Mike and Sully are on a mad chase to retrieve one particular door. It’s the door to a little girl’s bedroom, and the only one that can be used to transport her safely back home.

Sometimes I feel like I’m in a sea of moving doors, trying to locate a particular door of opportunity that will transport me into an exercise of my calling that’s closer to “home.” What has made my search especially challenging is that I don’t know exactly what that one door looks like.

Over the last several years I’ve tried several doors. Most of them have been shut and locked. Many doors that have opened to me are ones I had no desire to walk through in the first place. At times it has seemed like I’ve been passing through a series of revolving doors on my way to nowhere.

But I’ve come to realize that, somehow, each doorway I’ve passed through has brought me closer to that particular door I’ve been seeking.

I’m now convinced that the One who has been shutting attractive doors, and opening undesirable ones, has also been holding a specific door for me-a door that He will open in His time. And the only way for me to get to that door is by going through the One who is  the Door.

The doors He shuts, no one can open, and the doors He opens, no one can shut.

This conviction has come slowly. I’ve complained a lot over the years about the doors that God has swung open and the doors He’s shut tight. But my grumbling has only made it easier for the enemy to lure me over his trapdoor. I’ve dropped through that dark opening many times, repeatedly hitting the cellar floor with a painful thud.

But I am persuaded that I’ll eventually find the door God is holding for me if I continue to ask, seek, and knock.  Until the day He opens it,  even though I don’t know exactly what door I’m looking for, I’m confident He knows precisely what door He is holding for me.

Are you still looking for the door?

4 thoughts on “Hold the Door!

  1. Your post makes me think of Let’s Make a Deal. Maybe that’s why I liked the TV show so much, attractive doors with what I thought was really good stuff behind them.

    But then, there were doors with not so good stuff like donkeys and garbage, which clues me into it probably being best to leave the choosing to God and follow his lead. That’d happen more easily if someone would shut the door on my stubborn will. Now you’ve got me thinking about doors, Dave.

    • I remember well Monte Hall making door offers to enthusiastic contestants dressed as chickens.

      You have also reminded me of what a great writer you are. You have provided life wisdom for me very succinctly. IF I would just close the door on my stubborn will and let God choose the doors He’s going to open, I can be confident I wont’ be staring a mule in the eyes.

      So well done. Thank YOU!

  2. I was really liking this post, Dave, until I read this paragraph:

    “This conviction has come slowly. I’ve complained a lot over the years about the doors that God has swung open and the doors He’s shut tight. But my grumbling has only made it easier for the enemy to lure me over his trapdoor. I’ve dropped through that dark opening many times, repeatedly hitting the cellar floor with a painful thud.”

    Then I absolutely fell in love with this blog post and thought, “Best. Ever.”

    Open doors. Closed doors. Trap doors.

    Ah, yes. We have a Redeemer-God and we have a prowling-around enemy who wants nothing more than to destroy us. To ensnare us in a trap.

    And I love your confidence in God.

    Yes!

    • Oh my goodness, Beth. I find myself fumbling a bit for words of reply to your encouraging response. Thank you.

      You have distilled everything down to the essential truths:
      1) We have a Redeemer God who is always working us good. Stay attentive to Him
      2) We have a lurking enemy who is always seeking to trick, trip, trap and trounce us. Stay on the alert for him.

      Stay CONFIDENT in God, Beth. And keep encouraging others to do the same.

Leave a Reply

