Core Strength

CORE_STRENGTHI’m flipping through the cable channels just to verify that there’s nothing of value to watch when I land on QVC. QVC? Who watches this stuff? I pause long enough to witness some silly banter between two of the hosts. Then I hear the most ridiculous, over-the-top, hold-onto-your-seats introduction of the next amazingly revolutionary product that’s for sale. I’m rolling my eyes now. I find the whole presentation so foolish that it’s entertaining. So I stay tuned.

The host prances into the center ring of this shopper’s circus and introduces a guy who tells us all that we can get into great shape just by shaking a piece of flexible metal.

Oh, come ON! There’s one born every minute.

I’m embarrassed for the demonstrators now, so I’m watching through my fingers. After five minutes of viewing their enthusiastic demonstration, I am saying to myself, “Hmmm. I ought to buy one of those.”  I mean, these people are just standing there, shaking this piece of metal, and muscles I’ve never seen before are rippling all over.

The guy who “invented” this strip of sheet metal says that when the metal bends and flexes it generates forces that push us off balance. So, in response, our muscles contract as our bodies resist these forces.

Wow! I’m riveted now. This hunk of miracle metal strengthens muscles and builds core strength. I’m genuinely interested because core strengthening is the big thing in physical fitness these days, and I’m persuaded it offers some real benefits.

I’m also convinced that core strengthening is vitally important to my spiritual fitness. But I know that shaking a piece of metal won’t help me.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Paul’s prayer for believers in his letter to the Ephesians (chapter 3). He starts off his prayer with a request for the supernatural strengthening of our inner beings–the divine re-enforcement of our core selves–by the Spirit.

The circumstances of life, the world system, the enemy, and our old selves are all generating forces that threaten to push us off of our spiritual centers, and knock us off balance. We need strength to resist these formidable forces. And we don’t have it in us.

We have to be strong in Someone else’s might.

The strengthening of our inner beings by the work of the Spirit is essential if we are to enjoy the benefits of being rooted and grounded in God’s immeasurable love for us, being motivated and animated by the Spirit of Christ, and being filled with all the fulness of God.

That’s real life. We don’t get it by working out. It’s for the asking. And it all starts with the Spirit’s strengthening of our spiritual core.

Have you asked for core strength?

Leave a Reply

