Good from the Bad and the Ugly

GOOD-BAD-UGLYI was lying on the sofa thinking, questioning, complaining, hurting and grieving over an awful mess of a situation. I was thinking how much I just hated the whole thing. I was just sick about it.

The enemy was lurking, hissing, whispering his lying suggestions. He saw vulnerability. He saw an opportunity. He was moving in.

Then, out of nowhere, a thought broke into my mind. And a knowing smile broke out on my face.

“This, too, will be redeemed.”

It was a sudden realization. This heart-ache isn’t for nothing. This pain will not be wasted. This difficult season will not be fruitless. This struggle will not end in defeat.

Right now, there is a Redeemer working good things in me through these bad things. He has already begun making something beautiful out of this ugly mess. I remembered that I have an Overcomer through Whom I will certainly triumph over–and triumph through–the very troubles that threaten to defeat me.

I tend to forget just how comprehensive is the Overcomer’s victory over the evil one, and just how great is His power toward us who believe. As the Redeemer works in us, the things that afflict us are used to heal us. The things that trouble us ultimately serve us.

Yes. The Redeemer is working to bring something good out of the bad and the ugly. I told that to the enemy.  I also told him that one day I’ll testify about what the Redeemer has accomplished through this very trial, and others will be strengthened and encouraged along with me.

Today is not that day. But the day is surely coming.

My troubles are not uncommon. We all share in the experience.

But as we invite the Redeemer to work in our lives, and as we cooperate with what He is doing, we can be confident that our times of trouble will be redeemed.

And He’s already revealed to us where all of our stories are ultimately heading. The Redeemer has promised us a share in His comprehensive renewal of all things.

All good, no bad, and no ugly.

14 thoughts on “Good from the Bad and the Ugly

  1. “I also told (the enemy) that one day I’ll testify about what the Redeemer has accomplished through this very trial, and others will be strengthened and encouraged along with me.

    Today is not that day. But the day is surely coming.”

    One slight clarification, my brother: Today most certainly is the day. You testified to what the Redeemer is doing through that very trial — as you are walking through that very trial — today. Right now. Which makes it all the more powerful. Why wait until you have all the answers? Speaking words of hope when we are still seeking … it’s a beautiful thing. Life-giving to the Body.

    This just may be my favorite post, ever.

    • Thank you, my sister, for your most encouraging “clarification.” In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever been so moved by a clarification. “Why wait until you have all the answers” to speak words of hope? That’s a great question. If I waited until I had all the answers, I would have to call this blog site “crickets” because you wouldn’t hear a word from me 🙂 I appreciate you, Beth. Thank you for your good words.

      • I’m moved too, Dave. I have a tendency to want to figure it all out before I get on with life, but if you don’t have to wait for all the answers, neither do I. Thanks, Beth. Y’all are the perfect tag team for blog posts.

      • Thanks, Kim. The adversary wants us to think we’re alone, but we’re all in this together. The Spirit is at work the spiritual community He creates and inhabits. Let’s not forget it.

  2. “I tend to forget just how comprehensive is the Overcomer’s victory over the evil one, and just how great is His power toward us who believe.”

    What a powerful punch of a word, “comprehensive”. Yuh huh!!

    WHOAA! Dave, AWESOME, timely, amazing , kick in the heart encouragement today. THANK YOU!!

  3. Dave, powerful. I loved EVERY word of your post. These especially spoke to me.

    “Right now, there is a Redeemer working good things in me through these bad things. He has already begun making something beautiful out of this ugly mess. I remembered that I have an Overcomer through Whom I will certainly triumph over–and triumph through–the very troubles that threaten to defeat me.”

    Words of hope we can cling to. I love how God makes beautiful out of the mess. Thank you for the reminder that God never wastes a trial in our lives. I’m praying for you today.

  4. Hi Dave,

    You so consistently pass on the words and thoughts given to you from our Father.

    As Chuck Swindoll once wrote to me:

    “Press on, Pilgrim!”

    Mr. Bob

  5. Dave, we were sharing that same sofa this week and encouraged by the same Spirit. I was reminded of Romans 8:6 “…the mind of sinful man (flesh) is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace.” That “out of nowhere thought” you had – like my reminder of Romans 8:6 is the Redeemer being for us in our struggle and giving us the power of His word and His Name to overcome. I’m praying Ephesians 1:17- 22 AND Ephesians 6: 10-18 for you. Love you my brother in Christ – more than words can say. Can you pray those verses for me too?

    • “That ‘out of nowhere thought’ you had – like my reminder of Romans 8:6 is the Redeemer being for us in our struggle and giving us the power of His word and His Name to overcome.” YES! Powerful. So well said, Kim! As the Spirit would have it, I have been lingering over passages from Romans 9 and Ephesians 1. I will pray through those passages you cited on your behalf and on ours. Thank you for your ministry of intercession and for your ministry of truth-speaking!

Leave a Reply

