Limitlessness

HUMMINGBIRD2In the movie, Limitless, the protagonist, Eddie Morra, is a writer with self-sabotaging tendencies. After receiving a book contract, he suffers writer’s block and finds himself unable to generate a single word of his novel. Wandering the streets in a funk, Eddie encounters an old acquaintance who introduces him to a neural stimulant that is purported to give the user full access to 100% of his potential brain power.

After popping the pill, Eddie is launched from his depressed malaise into the exhilarating experience of operating at full mental capacity.ย  With his brain crackling with new activity, he enjoys astoundingly increased productivity, clear-headed decisiveness, and a compelling drive to move forward.

Suddenly, the possibilities seem limitless.

There is something compelling to me about the story of a sleepwalker who is suddenly fully awake and fully engaged with life.That story stirred within me a spiritual desire to enter into limitlessness.

I am not talking about maximizing any of my capacities, but embracing God’s infinite Being and living from His inexhaustible resources.

By sending His Spirit, Jesus has given us full access to His limitlessness. In the context of intimate spiritual relationship, He offers us heavenly wisdom, divine revelation and supernatural power. His Spirit continually invites us to see what He sees and to participate in what He’s doing.

Like Eddie, I’m a sleepwalker. I tend to shuffle through life unaware of what’s really going on around me. But the Spirit invites us to see and hear and function and operate on a completely different level. He offers us a view to an unseen world so that we might recognize opportunities to act in cooperation with Him.

That’s real living. Jesus calls it abundant life. I call it enjoying His limitlessness.

And I don’t know much about it.

That’s because we don’t access His limitlessness by taking a pill, but by being still. And that isn’t easy. The exterior world is loud all around us, and our interior worlds are noisy within us. We have to learn to quiet our spirits so we can hear what He is whispering to us.This is something I’m just beginning to learn how to do.

I am writing this today because lately it seems I’ve been confined and contained by limits. I’ve been bumping into walls and hitting my head on ceilings. Without realizing it, I’ve been ratcheting back my expectations as to what’s even possible. My hopes have been getting smaller and my expectations lower.

Then I thought, “Wait a minute. There’s something I’m not seeing. There’s Someone I’m not seeing in all of this.”

I think I’ve just been invited to enjoy His limitlessness.

20 thoughts on “Limitlessness

  1. I need two starred “Like” buttons today, Dave: One for your drawing and one for the actual blog post. I mean, yeah, I always love your drawings … but today, well, you’re drawing right to my heart.
    A hummingbird.
    Me and hummingbirds. We go way-back.
    I see a hummingbird and I think God and God’s love, specifically God’s love for me.
    And then I read your blog post and wow! Now I am thinking a whole lot more about God …
    Limitless.
    Great word.

    • Well I wish I had three starred “THANK YOU” buttons–one for your comment on the drawing, another for your feedback on the post, and a third for the great back story about the hummingbird. I need all the God-reminders I can get, so I hope a solid connection has been made in my mind that links hummingbirds with the love of God. Thanks, Beth. Your kindness has no limits.

  2. Amen and Amen!!! You’ve just nailed it for sure today. And that writing – spectacular!
    You’re terrific!

    Keep it up.

    Dee

  3. Love this! It reminds me of one of the most challenging verses in Scripture (at least it is to me), Psalm 46:10. It says, “Be still and know that I am God.” In high school I was challenged with this verse and, to this day, when I hear it or someone reminds me to be still it convicts me of how rarely I truly am still before God.
    Thanks for sharing such a great challenge again! I want to be still and embrace what God is offering to me–to be limitless!

    (P.S. LOVE the artwork! As always) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I agree with you, KB. Being still is not easy for most of us, and we do need to be reminded to quiet ourselves down and listen to God. Thanks for telling me about your memory-trigger verse. I hope it becomes a reminder for me, too. And thank you for your compliments on the drawing!

  4. Commenting late today. Being stillโ€”such a challenge in this life I live. I have to be intentional in choosing to be still before Jesus. Talking with Him, but even more, having a quiet enough heart to really hear His words to me. I love the reminder of His limitlessness which is available when I am still and know he is God (one of my favorite verses tooโ€”so glad Katie Beth mentioned it).

    Hmmm, busy-ness and status quo or stillness before Jesus and being fully engaged in all He has for me. I think I’ll choose the latter. Intentionally. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for these great thoughts, and the drawing!!

    • Jeanne, you have perfectly summarized the essentials: 1) We must be intentional about being still and 2) we have to be quiet enough to listen. I love your resolve to “choose the latter.” You are welcome for the thoughts and drawings. And thank you for your input Meditation on truth is so much more enjoyable and beneficial to me with your involvement,

  5. Limitless…Sounds a lot like Psalm 18:19 He brought me to a spacious place because he delighted in me. Great post!

  6. A few weeks ago I had the privilege of enjoying 4 nights away on my own at a country retreat about 2 hours from my home. There was no tv, no Internet, no mobile phone, no distractions. The perfect place to be still and know that He is God ๐Ÿ™‚
    Initially it was quite challenging, but over that time God reminded me of a few important things that I had forgotten or at least pushed to the back. One of those things, was that the Holy Spirit is inside me, a part of me, and that like a well He can be drawn upon for strength, for comfort, for counselling and much more.
    In fact John 4:14 describes His spirit as living water and if we drink of it, we will never be thirsty. Now if that’s not an illustration of His limitlessness, I don’t know what is ๐Ÿ™‚ God is good!!
    I look forward to hearing more of what God reveals to you as you accept His invitation to enjoy His limitlessness.

  7. Graham, the retreat environment you described seems like just the thing for practicing the discipline of quietness. And, yes, the Spirit as the eternal spring bubbling up from within us and overflowing into streams–that is a great illustration of the limitlessness Jesus offers us as the water of life! Thank you for sharing the insights you received in your quietness before God. And thank you for encouraging me to answer Jesus’ invitation to enjoy His limitlessness. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. “Be Still and Know that I am God” is a directive that I’m trying to incorporate daily – and still struggling to do so. Thanks for the validating reminder as well as the concept of an invitation to enjoy his limitlessness!

  9. Ouch! I knew the answer wasn’t a pill, but why’d sitting still catch me off guard? I would have guessed any solution but that one, probably because I’m in denial. Of course sitting still with Him is the answer. So, let’s get going. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just kidding. I’m going to practice this one.

Leave a Reply

