Run by Walking

RUN-WALKI don’t like running. I’ve never experienced the “runner’s high.” I appreciate the health benefits from running, but not enough to do it. I’m not competitive about running either. It doesn’t matter to me if the next guy can run faster than I can. And neither am I interested in running the same distance in less time than I did before.

I’d rather walk.

Spiritually speaking, I know that I’m in a race. It’s a matter of life and death. There’s a prize for everyone who runs the race in order to attain it. Dropping out is not an option. To forfeit this race is to lose everything.

The upside of this race is that we run using Someone else’s energy. Renewed in the strength of the One who already has finished the race for us, we can run and not be weary.

But how do we do that?

We run by walking.

Only by walking with God can we finish this race. We don’t walk to conserve our energy. We walk to renew our energy with His supply. Only by walking in the Spirit–step by step by step–will we be continually energized for the race before us.

Our Champion shows us how. It’s been said of Jesus that He was “always busy, but never in a hurry.” He walked with His Father and talked with His Father, staying attentive to His agenda, responsive to His will, and dependent upon His power. No one has run the race better.

The race of faith is my kind of race because I can walk the whole way.

Let’s walk together so we can encourage one another.

And let’s remind each other.

Slow and steady wins the race.

11 thoughts on “Run by Walking

  1. I’m soooo with you on the running aspect. My husband was shocked when I told him I never felt the “high” after running, or any other kind of exercise. I only feel exhausted. 🙂

    I love what you shared about winning the most important race by walking. With Jesus. In His strength. I forget to rely on Him and end up exhausted when I try to do everything in my own strength.Thanks for the reminder to walk with the Spirit step by step.

    Great post today, Dave!

    • Thank you so much, Jeanne. I wrote myself this reminder to walk because it seemed that life started coming at me too fast this week. I was starting to accelerate my pace and lose my focus.And, as you said, it only leads to exhaustion. Hey, congratulations for becoming a Frasier finalist. Word gets around! 🙂

  2. I’ve told several people about your blog post today, Dave — and shared it on my FB page. And I love the simple truth you share: We run by walking. It’s simple, and yet life-changing. This is one of your strengths as a writer: Finding profound truths and writing about them in such a way that readers can grab a hold of them.

    • Beth, thank you for sharing this post with others, and thank you for sharing your encouragement with me. It really means a lot. What I am trying to say is, thank you for being who you are–a great encourager! 🙂

  3. I went for an early morning walk the other day and found myself at the bottom of a hill and wondering if I had the energy to get to the top. As I started the climb I was struck by the impression of Jesus walking beside me, reminding me to simply take just one step at a time. He also reminded me that if I was to simply stop where I was and not move then nothing would change and I would quite frankly still be there even now. The fact was that I needed to get home and there was only one way that was going to happen. So I kept going, one foot in front of the other, walking and talking with Jesus….. all the way home 🙂

    • Now that’s a great story, Graham! Thank you for taking the time to share it. Your early morning walk serves as a living metaphor for a life spent walking with God. We walk and talk with Jesus all the way home. I love it. Thanks again!

  4. I like walking, so I’m good with that part of this post. And since instant gratification keeps letting me down, I’m growing to appreciate slow and steady, so that part’s getting easier too. And obviously I need to hear the same things over and over because I just went through Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University and he said one of his mentors gives away the book about the tortoise and the hare because of the wise message – slow and steady is the way to financial freedom, and I guess every other kind of freedom. So, count me in even if I do sprint ahead from time to time. 🙂

    • The tortoise way is the only way. I’ve tried sprinting ahead without God during times of my impatience. (If He won’t do anything, I’ll have to do this myself). All sprinting does is leave me tired and winded. You are so right. Peace–financial or otherwise–comes through a slow and steady walk. A slow and steady pace, as you say, is an acquired taste 🙂 but it’s really growing on me.

Leave a Reply

