Incompatible Roommates

FEAR-FAITHOne night, my daughter confided in me that she was afraid and that she didn’t know what to do with her fear.

I told her that either faith or fear can live in her heart, but they can’t be roommates.  They are incompatible.  When fear moves in, he kicks faith out.  When faith moves in, he casts fear out.

I told her that the enemy wants us to be afraid, and he often sends fear to pound on the door our hearts.  We mustn’t let him in or he’ll push faith out the back door, unpack his suitcase, and make himself right at home.

We must speak truth to him while he’s still on the doorstep.  By believing God’s promises FAITH-FEARand speaking God’s truth right into the face of fear, we can send fear away. Faith always rests in God’s assurance that we need not be afraid.

I told her that trusting God is how we send fear packing.

I drew pictures for her to illustrate and reinforce the truth.

My daughter said, “Thanks, Dad. That really helps. I forgot that you used to be a pastor.”

(For more on that, check back on Thursday.)

When my daughter left the room, I could almost hear the Spirit saying, “Was that helpful to you? Were you listening to your lesson?”

You see, before my daughter came to me for help with her fear, I was dealing with some fear of my own. You know—mature, adult fear—not that kid stuff.

I looked at those simple illustrations and meditated upon the simple truth.

The next sound I heard was fear tumbling down the front porch steps with his suitcase bouncing after him.

Is it time for you to show fear the door?

(My daughter Elisabeth loves horses, and she drew this one with her delicate hand.)

ELISABETHS HORSE

 

7 thoughts on “Incompatible Roommates

  1. I’ve had to show fear the door more than once … it’s more like showing fear the revolving door! Love the word picture of incompatible roommates. It’s truly a case of one or the other, but too often I think I can squeeze ’em both in my mind.
    Thanks for sharing your daughter’s artwork. She obviously has her father’s artistic talent flowing through her veins. 🙂

  2. The “revolving door”–yes, that ‘s more like it 🙂 It’s easy for us to allow fear to get a foot in the door by telling ourselves that our fear is just responsible concern. But fear is a very pushy guest. As for my daughter’s artwork, she can draw a much better horse than her father can. I can draw Gumby’s horse, Pokey. That’s about it.

  3. I usually have to speak out loud to the enemy as he gently leads me to fear something. That way I know he hears. Sometimes I just tell him to go back to where he belongs – away from me and my life.

    “Bits” – you’re an amazing artist AND knitter:)

    Miss Dee

  4. Miss Dee, you have provided excellent counsel. Speaking truth to the enemy out loud is a good practice. Speaking firmly to the adversary also helps affirm the truth in our own hearts. Thanks for your comments! I’m calling “Bits” over right now to see your compliments 🙂

  5. I’ve definitely had to choose faith over fear, many times. Sometimes it’s hardest when what I fear is that something I really want isn’t in God’s plans for me. When I’m in that situation, I must choose to trust God’s plans for my life as being better than my plans. When I can do that, fear tumbles out and faith steps in. But, I write this in present tense because I still struggle with keeping faith in my heart.

    I love your daughter’s pics. And as Beth said, she obviously inherited her father’s talent. Thanks for your reminders today, Dave.

    • Jeanne, you’ve got me thinking about the fear that something we strongly desire will not come to be according to the counsel of God’s will.You’re right that we can be tempted to fear out of distrust that God’s plans are really best for us. I’ve had to wrestle that fear out the door before. And I’m sure that same fear will come knocking again.Good insight. Oh, and I will pass along your compliments to the young artist 🙂

  6. Pingback: Fear: Fueled By Wildfires | Jeanne Takenaka

Leave a Reply

