Just Wait

NOAH_NEWLife is waiting.

And God has made it plain to us that we are all born to be waiters.

God told Noah that a deluge was coming, and instructed him to build a boat.

Noah acted upon a promise. He couldn’t see the flood that was coming. He had to trust while he worked. He had to believe while he waited.

Board by board, hour after hour, day after day–with a hot sun over his head and hot sand under his feet–he worked as a shipbuilder in the desert. All the while he waited for the fulfillment of a promise that he could not see.

Like other waiters we read about in the Biblical narratives, Noah is waiting in the midst of the most unlikely circumstances for the realization of a most improbable promise.  Noah, the desert shipbuilder, must have looked ridiculous to onlookers as he actively waited for such an implausible promise to arrive.

“The sand under your feet isn’t a beach, Noah!”

“That’s enough pitch, Noah. I don’t think you need to worry about waterproofing your land ship.”

“Hey, Noah, you’d better make an anchor before your gigantic boat floats away on you.”

I suspect Noah had his moments. “What am I doing? This is insanity.”

To be honest, sometimes I feel a bit ridiculous in the waiting. Sometimes I feel like I’m building a ship in the desert.

And I must confess that I’ve spent a lot of time just hating the waiting.

But I’m beginning to understand that most of life happens in the waiting. The lie of the enemy is that waiting time is wasted time. But it’s in our seasons of waiting that God is most actively working. It’s as we wait upon God that He accomplishes great things in us and through us.

Whenever we are privileged to see God fulfill a promise in this life, it’s a beautiful thing to behold. But down deep inside we all know that the things for which we are really yearning, hoping, and waiting will never be granted to us in this life. So we wait.

We wait for our full inheritance.  We wait for the complete renewal of all things. We wait for our face-to-Face reunion with the One who has promised it all to us. We wait our entire lives. And we are transformed in the waiting.

So, as we wait and walk through this life–often encountering heart-aches, shattered dreams, and disappointed expectations–the Spirit whispers His encouragement to us.

“Just wait.”

One, last thing. As I was working on my Noah drawing, my son David sat down next to me ARK_RAINBOWand drew Noah’s ship floating safely on top of the waters of the promised crisis event. David said, “You should put my picture on your blog.” I told him someday I would. Then I thought about what waiting for someday feels like to an 8-year-old boy. I thought he might get tired of waiting 🙂

12 thoughts on “Just Wait

  1. Such a good reminder that life is waiting … and God is still working. But the best part of this blog was the reminder of how God the Father loves us as his children … just as you love your son, David. 🙂

  2. I’ve been struck recently that waiting is most painful when I’m spending most of my emotional/mental/spiritual bandwidth focused somewhere other than today. When I look for God in my present hour, then I live as though my life really is happening NOW (which, of course is the only way may life can happen). I loved your title because “just wait” goes from meaning “settle down kid; this is gonna take awhile” to “just wait’ll you see what I’m gonna do next!” When I live like that, everything becomes alive with the Kingdom already breaking in.

    • Nicole, you have provided more meaningful insights in your response than I did in my original post. You are so right. Living in the unfolding NOW, being present in the present, that’s life. But it’s so easy to miss. You crack me up because it took this “kid” years to “settle down” and only very recently have I recognized God’s invitation to witness and participate in the amazing work He is doing.

  3. Wow, another great post, Dave. I loved this: “Most of life happens in the waiting.” What a great reminder that I need to LIVE while in waiting times. Not give up in despair, or stop doing anything productive. Waiting is never easy, but I’m becoming more comfortable with it as I get more practice. 🙂

    Loved that you put your son’s picture on your blog today, rather than “some day.” 😉

    • You said it. Jeanne. “I need to LIVE in the waiting times.” I’m asking God to help me with that right now. And, yes, we only learn by practice. I am not sure what I even meant by “someday.” It probably was just the parental brush-off. I’m so glad I came to my senses! He’s beaming today. 🙂 Thanks, Jeanne!

  4. Dave, I love this post. My husband (Graham F) and my son seem to be running parallel lives of having to wait and see what God is going to do next, so I ensured they both read your post!
    I also like the double meaning of your first line and I’ll admit, I first read it as in ‘life is waiting for you!’ and since I am a ‘take life by the horns’ type of girl, that appeals to me but I also love the truth of it how you intended.
    I think it matters a great deal how we wait, because, like you said – waiting is what life is for the most part. But what do we do with that waiting time? Do we squander it by whining, complaining and bucking against it? Or are we patient and relaxed, knowing God has it all sorted?
    My doctor always runs notoriously late, so there are plenty of times I have sat in her waiting room with no idea how long I will be there for. The way I wait makes no difference to her – I can fidget, look at my watch, mutter to myself – but none of that will change how long the patient before will take. But the person it makes a big difference to is me. I am affected by my attitude to waiting, no-one else.
    Life is waiting. I have waited about eight years for something I felt God laid on my heart and it’s finally beginning to happen. There is still waiting involved of course, so thanks for the reminder 🙂

    • You are so right about our posture in the waiting. Whining, bucking and complaining doesn’t serve us well. I’ve learned that from experience. What I also discovered is that trying to drive my agenda as to what God must address and how doesn’t serve me either. God seemed silent, inactive, even absent while I was desperately and frantically trying to get his attention. I didn’t realize that He was whispering, that He was moving in my life according to His good purposes, waiting patiently for me to recognize His presence and cooperate with Him in what He was doing. Being attentive and receptive to God is the moment by moment challenge for me. Oh, and I am very pleased to hear that you are now seeing the beginnings of something for which you’ve been waiting for eight years. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

  5. Dave, greetings! Jumped over from Beth’s cyber home! Love your insights and your illustrations! What a breath of fresh air–just what I needed to kickstart my morning! (…And your son’s picture. So sweet! Aren’t little boys grand?!)

    Ahhh…waiting. Could write a book on it. (Bad pun.) Through waiting, God’s taught me a lot of things. When things don’t go according to my own will, plan, or purpose, it’s usually because He has something better in store. And… patience is growing me in exciting, new ways! (Not always pleasant, but necessary and life-changing.)

    ~Blessings

    • I am delighted that you jumped over here! Thank you for your kind compliments. If you did write a book on waiting, I’d read it, because I tend to think that I can shortcut the training process by getting an intellectual grasp of the topic. But you and I both know it doesn’t work that way 🙂 You said it all: God grows us in life-changing ways through the unpleasant experience of waiting. Thank you so much for your valuable contribution to this discussion.

Leave a Reply

