The Empty that Fills

EMPTY TOMBOn that first “Easter” morning, Jesus’ disciples did not understand that when they entered that hillside sepulcher and stood in the cool, empty space within those tomb walls, they were surveying the most significant void in the history of the world.

Their puzzled disappointment at not finding Him dead would lead to their bewildered astonishment at seeing Him alive. It was precisely because they couldn’t find Him in the place where they were looking for Him that He was able to appear to them in places they were not.. It was because they didn’t find Him in the tomb that they encountered Him elsewhere–in the upper room, on the sea shore.

In time, the disciples would understand, as we do, that the permanent vacancy of Jesus’ grave guarantees His permanent residency in our hearts. His perpetual absence from the burial chamber ensures His abiding presence with us forever.

The vacancy of Jesus’ tomb is the one emptiness that answers our emptiness because it means that now we can be filled:

  • with His Spirit
  • with His joy
  • with His peace
  • with faith
  • with love
  • with hope

And the hope we have in Him is unshakeable because the One who left His tomb empty fills us, fills history, fills eternity, fills all.

9 thoughts on “The Empty that Fills

  1. Dave, what a great perspective. I love the reminder that because Jesus is not where we might expect him to be, He can be in places that surprise us. How often I have expected him to be in one place, (usually confined within my circumstances in a way I can understand) only to see Him show up in completely unexpected and wonderful ways in another facet of my life. I don’t know if this makes sense. But you’re post brought that home to me. God will not be confined by death, or by my understanding of who He is. He’s so much bigger and more wonderful than I understand.

    Have a wonderful, blessed Easter.

    • What a brilliantly helpful insight! What you have articulated has brought me face to face with a profound truth about our experience walking through life in relationship with our “unconfined ” God who works outside, above and beyond our expectations. You have said it so well. Thank you for sharing your insight.

      And Happy Easter to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dave,
    I reread your post today — and re-shared it via Twitter because it is so profoundly appropriate as we move through Good Friday (or Dark Friday) into the celebration of Easter. I love how you wrote about “the vacancy of the tomb filling our emptiness …” So beautifully done.

  3. Great post Dave! I just read an entire sermon in one minute. You sir have an incredible knack for bringing home simple gospel truths. Keep using your gift–it’s very beneficial to me and I’m always eager to find out what you’ll have to say in your next post.

  4. Nice drawing of the empty tomb. May I please have your permission to use it on my Easter email greeting to friends?

  5. A guest to a blog post is never late. The timing is always just right ๐Ÿ™‚ I so appreciate your visit and your kind comments. I am glad you found something you needed in this message, and I am very honored that you came to the party.

Leave a Reply

